Jdate?

A 30something girlfriend recently asked me if she should try Jdate.  Yes, I’ve been on it myself and No, I didn’t meet anyone through that dating site.  I cautioned her against it.  But you’re not Jewish, I said.  Of course that didn’t stop me.  Yes, my girlfriend and I are attracted to Jewish men.  But statistically you’re in a bleak category if you join Jdate and your profile clearly says that you’re not Jewish.  Most guys on Jdate are looking for a Jewish woman.  Even if you’re willing to convert.

Yes, I am willing to convert and I’ve taken a serious course on Judaism, which I loved.  But after the course I never followed up and joined a shul; nor did I choose a rabbi to work with on a conversion process.

Nonetheless I have close friends who are Jewish, and I feel culturally Jewish in many ways.  I did meet one platonic friend on Jdate and we are still in touch today, years after I ended my subscription.

This entry was posted in dating, New York, relationships, single and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

