Date Eliot?

I saw Eliot Spitzer at my health club a couple of years ago. At that time he was not in the spotlight, this was before his re-emergence on CNN and talk shows.  He seemed to be alone, he was in business attire, and he appeared to be another health club member in transition–either before or after a game or working out. Hanging in the lobby area, probably checking his crackberry or smartphone. I was laughing and joking with the staff, like I usually do when I arrive. I spotted him in my peripheral vision. My first impression was positive. The man is not bad looking.

He’s more attractive in person than on TV, I thought. He was eavesdropping on my banter and I turned to look at him. He smiled broadly. Oh my, he’s cute. Then I remembered all the stories. Why he had to leave the governorship. Client no. 9. Well, no one’s perfect.

It’s a theoretical question: would I ever date him? He’s age appropriate. Tabloids say that his marriage is over, he lives apart from his wife, she did not publicly support his recent run for city comptroller. He’s fit, he’s between jobs although not exactly on SNAP, his kids are grown, he lives in the city. He’s smart, well educated. But apparently he has had unprotected sex with prostitutes, has spent tens of thousands of dollars on this service.

OK, so if I ever want to have sex with him I’ll have to see his blood test results.  We’ve all made mistakes. Doesn’t he deserve at least one gym date? One friendly game of tennis and drinks afterward?

I wonder.

This entry was posted in dating, relationships, single and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

