Never say these things to an Asian

A friend of mine sent me a link to an article “things you should never say to an Asian” after I told him about a recent experience.  I did not read the article but I chuckled because I could already divine some of the content.  After decades of living and working in major cities in the USA, I am still asked questions like “do you know English?”  or “You don’t speak with an accent”.

I consider the last statement to be a question because the person expects me to respond with an explanation.  How is it possible that I look Asian and yet do not speak with an accent?

Late last year I was asked both of these questions on three separate occasions and I railed against the gods.  FML. In a city like New York??  I told a few of my friends—those who are Asian and could shake their heads knowingly as well as those white friends who commiserate with minorities. A white gay friend sent me the link to the aforementioned article.

I told one of my closest (she’s Asian) friends that people who look like us will always be subject to this kind of prejudice in this wonderful country.

This entry was posted in health, prejudice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

